The Ibero-American Animation Quirino Awards closed the call for their fourth edition with 21% more works compared to their previous edition. A total of 265 works from 17 countries aspire to be finalists in one of the nine categories in competition: feature film, series, short film, school short film, commissioned film, animation for video game, sound design and original music, visual development and animation design.

The Quirino Awards organization also announced that the city of San Cristóbal de La Laguna, on the island of Tenerife and known as La Laguna, will host the fourth edition of the awards. Declared a World Heritage Site by Unesco in 1999, La Laguna is one of the island’s references in cultural matters, with several institutions, theaters, museums and a university. It will be precisely at Leal Theater of the town where the awards ceremony will be held next May 29th.